

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE SEPTEMBER 28, 2020 | DAY 1: 4:00 TO 7:10 PM IST

| Saghaa Webinar | INAUGURATION (4:00 TO 4:45 PM) |
|--|--|
| 4:00 to 4:01 pm 4:01 to 4:04 pm 4:04 to 4:07 pm 4:07 to 4:10 pm | Ms Sulagna Chattopadhyay, Convenor, SaGHAA Dr Rasik Ravindra, Chairman SaGHAA Brief by Organising Chairs: Dr Ravichandran, Director, NCPOR Dr Nalan Koc, Director, Norwegian Polar Institute |
| Special Guest 4:10 to 4:20 pm | Ms Hilde Svartdal Lunde, Senior Arctic Official, Ambassador for the Arctic and Antarctic, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway |
| Keynote 4:20 to 4:40 pm | Prof Victor Smetacek, Prof Emeritus, Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany |
| SESSION 1: 4:40 - 5:40 pm | PANEL DISCUSSION I CLEAN AND HEALTHY OCEANS Polar oceans and its degradation Pollution in the polar oceans Microplastics and its impact Biodiversity loss in the Polar oceans |
| Chair | Dr Shailesh Nayak, Director, National Institute of Advanced Studies |
| Panellists | Prof Katherine Richardson, Center for Macroecology, Evolution and Climate, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Dr S Singh, Director, National Institute of Oceanography Dr Ole Arve Misund, Director, Norwegian Polar Institute, Norway Dr Pushp Bajaj, Associate Fellow, National Maritime Foundation |
| 5:30 to 5:40 pm | Questions from the audience |
| CHIEF GUEST 5:40 to 6:00 | HE Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, Fmr President, Iceland |
| 6:00 to 6:05 | Reconvene in 5 minutes |
| SESSION 2: 6:05 to 7:05 pm | PANEL DISCUSSION I POLAR OCEANS - WEATHER AND CLIMATE ATMOSPHERIC BRIDGE, Ocean tunnel and the Indian monsoon Arctic oscillations |
| Chair | Dr M N Rajeevan, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences |
| Panellists | Dr Ravichandran, Director, National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research, Goa Dr Nalan Koc, Research Director, Norwegian Polar Institute, Norway Dr Lasse Pettersson, Director, Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center, Norway Dr Åsa Lindgren, Head, Ship-based research support, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat, Sweden |
| 6:55 to 7:05 pm | Questions from the audience |
| Rounding off 7:05 to 7:10 pm | Dr R Ravindra and Ms Sulagna Chattopadhyay |



PROGRAMME SCHEDULE SEPTEMBER 29, 2020 | DAY 2: 4:00 TO 7:20 PM IST

| Saghaa Webinar | SPECIAL SESSION (4:00 TO 4:30 PM) |
|--|--|
| GUEST OF HONOUR 4:00 to 4:20 pm | Parliamentarian James Gray, House of Commons, United Kingdom |
| GUEST SPEAKER 4:20 to 4:30 pm | HE Freddy Svane, Ambassador Royal, Danish Embassy |
| Keynote 4:30 - 4:50 pm | Dr S W A Naqvi, Distinguished Scientist, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research |
| SESSION 3: 4:50 to 5:50 pm | PANEL DISCUSSION I MARITIME JURISPRUDENCE Strategic convergences and divergences on sharing of common spaces International law and the Arctic-Antarctic |
| Chair / Moderator | Vice Admiral Pradeep Chauhan, Director General, National Maritime Foundation |
| Panellists | Captain Sarabjeet Parmar, Executive Director, National Maritime Foundation Dr R Ravindra, Fmr Director, National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research; Fmr Member, UN-CLCS Dr Paula Kankaanpää, Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment Chair, Finnish Environment Institute, Finland Dr M Sudhakar, Director, Centre for Marine Living Resources & Ecology |
| 5:40 to 5:50 pm | Questions from the audience |
| Session Break 5:50 to 5:55 pm | Reconvene in 5 minutes |
| SPECIAL INVITEE 5:55 to 6:05 | HE Mr Hans Jacob Frydenlund, Ambassador Royal Norwegian Embassy |
| SESSION 4: 6:05 to 7:05 pm | PANEL DISCUSSION I BLUE ECONOMY Food from the oceans Non-living resources Technology development |
| Chair / Moderator | Dr P S Goel, Fmr Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences |
| Panellists | Dr Atmanand, Director, National Institute of Ocean Technology Armstrong Changsan Ambassador of India to Iceland Dr Sameer Guduru, Associate Fellow, National Maritime Foundation Dr John Kurian, Senior Scientist, Deep Sea Exploration and Mapping, National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research Dr Jan-Gunnar Winther, Centre for the Ocean and the Arctic, Norway |
| 6:55 to 7:05 pm | Questions from the audience |
| Valediction and Vote of thanks 7:05 to 7:20 pm | Dr P S Goel, Dr R Ravindra and Ms Sulagna Chattopadhyay |